Rovers claim three more premierships

The Alexandria Rovers have added three more premierships to an already bursting trophy cabinet. The rugby league club was victorious in the Under 9s, Under 11s and Under 15s competitions, with both the 11s and 15s finishing the season as undefeated premiers.

The Alexandria Rovers Under 15s – Premiers 2017 Photo: John Donnelly

The Alexandria Rovers Under 15s – Premiers 2017 Photo: John Donnelly

The club fielded 10 teams in season 2017 and seven of those participated in competitions which held semi-finals. Of those seven teams, four made it to the semis. The three premierships number 81, 82 and 83 for the club established way back in 1948.

The last ten years has seen the Rovers win at least one premiership each year, a feat not too many clubs from the South Sydney district can match. Members and supporters have proudly renamed 2008-2017 the “decade of dominance”.

The Under 9s defeated South Eastern 38-10 in their grand final, the Under 11s defeated Mascot 32-16 and the Under 15s defeated Leichhardt 28-4. All three grand finals were played at the famous Redfern Oval, which has seen some of the greatest players to ever play the game grace the hallowed field, and hopefully some of these boys and girls will go on to play at a higher level.

Planning for season 2018 has already begun as the club will be celebrating season number 70 – and everyone will be striving to extend the decade of dominance.

You can find all the latest information on the Alexandria Rovers Football Club at or like and follow the club on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *