Film

Film–Juliet, Naked

 

· Monday, September 17, 2018 · Leave a Comment 

 

Juliet, Naked is no Monty Python. There’s nothing surreal here – indeed it’s all very real. With few belly laughs but many chuckles, Juliet, Naked is impossible to dislike but hard to love.

Film – The Insult

 

· Tuesday, August 7, 2018 · Leave a Comment 

 

Alas, there’s no denying that The Insult is a superb film. Lebanese personal, religious and political relationships all collide to tell what, on face value, is a simple…

Film – Mary Shelley

 

· Thursday, July 5, 2018 · Leave a Comment 

 

Frankenstein is probably the best known novel that most people have never read.

Film – Deadpool 2

 

· Wednesday, June 27, 2018 · Leave a Comment 

 

The only thing that Hollywood likes more than a superhero film is a sequel to a superhero film.

Film – The Death of Stalin

 

· Saturday, May 5, 2018 · Leave a Comment 

 

If only The Death of Stalin were funnier.

Film – I, Tonya

 

· Sunday, March 11, 2018 · Leave a Comment 

 

How do you make a biopic not look like a biopic? You make it as if it were a mockumentary.

Film – The Post

 

· Saturday, February 10, 2018 · Leave a Comment 

 

In any other (Academy Awards) year, The Post would be just another hard-hitting quality film about investigative journalism and political cover-ups.

Film – The Killing of a Sacred Deer

 

· Saturday, December 9, 2017 · Leave a Comment 

 

Films that divide the critics are nearly always worth watching.

Film – Brigsby Bear

 

· Saturday, October 7, 2017 · Leave a Comment 

 

There’s nothing more frustrating than a film that pulls its punches.

Film – I Am Not Your Negro

 

· Sunday, October 1, 2017 · Leave a Comment 

 

A powerful and important film.